Support/Firefox Features/Clean up user profile/TestPlan

From New wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Reset Firefox

Feature Status Release Target Dev Lead QA Lead Status
Reset Firefox Partially landed Firefox 13 Matt Noorenberghe Ioana Budnar Signed off

Summary

  • This feature provides a way for users to automatically fix Firefox by creating a new profile and migrating their data. It can be accessed three different ways:
    • When the user attempts to re-install Firefox (same version is already installed), he is offered the option to reset Firefox. Note that the reset process is performed by Firefox, not by the installer.
    • After Firefox crashes three consecutive times at start-up, it will offer to either reset Firefox or to start in safe mode.
    • The user can open the Troubleshooting Information page (about:support) and click the Reset Firefox button.
  • When the user chooses to reset Firefox, Firefox will:
    • Confirm with the user what actions are about to be taken
    • Create a new user profile
    • Migrate the user data (bookmarks, history, saved passwords, autofill form/search data, cookies, extensions and themes)
    • Reset the toolbars and controls
    • Reset all the user preferences to Firefox defaults
    • Disable all the add-ons and switch to the default theme
    • Restart using the new profile.
  • Since OS X and Linux don't have installers, there is no way to trigger this process for them upon re-installation. The rest of the cases are valid for them too.

Notes:

  • Add-ons are not migrated at all yet. - 2012-05-07
  • The user's Sync account is not migrated either. - 2012-05-07

References

Use Cases

  • The user chooses to reset Firefox while re-installing it.
  • After three consecutive start-up crashes, the user selects the option to reset Firefox.
  • The user opens about:support, then clicks the Reset Firefox button.
  • The reset process is started, then it gets cancelled.
  • The user gathers a rich profile then he resets Firefox.
  • Firefox is opened with a clean profile, then it gets reset.
  • The user starts private browsing, then it resets Firefox.
  • Firefox is opened in safe mode, then the user resets it.
  • The user manually closes the Firefox process while it's being reset.
  • The OS gets restarted while resetting Firefox.
  • Firefox is reset multiple consecutive times.
  • OS restore after cleaning up a Firefox profile.
  • Reset the Firefox profile after restoring the OS.
  • Reset Firefox after updating it from an already reset profile.
  • Setup sync, then reset the Firefox profile.

Test Cases

  • The test cases for this feature can be viewed here.

Important Bugs

<bugzilla> {

"id": "273874, 721265, 717070, 735126, 721242, 731047, 715315, 725904, 732303, 731047"

} </bugzilla>

Not Tested

  • Clean install
  • Safe mode
  • Firefox migrators outside this feature (import user data from other browsers)

Sign off

Criteria
  • All the test cases were executed.
  • All the major bugs have been fixed.
Sign offs
  • Firefox 13.0
    • UI from safe mode dialog and installer not implemented yet.
    • Aurora - 2012-03-19
    • Beta 1 - 2012-04-26
    • Beta 2 - 2012-05-04
    • RC - 2012-06-04